1. The Complete Encyclopedia of Needlework by Thérèse de Dillmont

I really really like this thick book. I use it a lot and have learned so many stitches and techniques from this book.  Although it is an antique publication, I find the instructions easy to follow. The illustration might be difficult to decipher, but I get to use my imagination to full extent, so it does not bother me.

There are also projects included, with step-by-step instructions.

Here are some of its contents, gold embroidery, applique work, knitting, crochet, etc:

Visit this website to view the e-book for free! http://encyclopediaofneedlework.com/index.htm

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “1. The Complete Encyclopedia of Needlework by Thérèse de Dillmont”

  1. Samanta Says:

    Hi, Vince! I’ve decided to check out Amazon again for this book and – surprise! – there’s a new edition of it!
    The problem is what the comments tell us: no effort seems to have been made in treating the illustrations, so some people say they’re even worse than in old editions.
    I think that’s just shameful. With the technology we have nowadays, they could certainly have put some work on the graphics to make them look better. I don’t think I’ll be able to put my hands on this edition soon, but I think I’ll believe what other readers said and check the online version for now. If you manage to look at it in person, let us know what you think! 🙂

    • worksofhands Says:

      Hi Samantha! I have the book. And it is true, they have not touched up the illustrations and the text. At first glance one thinks it is impossible to read them compared to the new books on techniques. But if you look at some of my works, most of them I learned just by reading this encyclopedia. It might be difficult to understand if one is a total beginner. Because I have experiece in embroidery, i could imagine what Dillmont was describing and I am more courageous to try understanding her instructions than a total beginner.
      I believe they did not attempt to rewrite nor to reillustrate to keep the price of the book down. It is not for every stitcher, but it is a book every serious needleworker should have.
      But believe me, it is a treasure chest of stitches and techniques!
      Lots of advanced embroiderers recommend it and use it.

  2. Samanta Says:

    Dear Vince,

    You’ll be the doom of me. I’ll just have to buy it now. Sigh.
    Any project books to learn stitches to suggest? I save some money ordering more books at a time from Amazon (don’t think that’s just an excuse for me to buy MORE embroidery books…). 😀

    • worksofhands Says:

      🙂 I will post project books soon. I have not really worked with project books to learn stitches, because the designs are usually not my style. I find the Royal school of needlework book very good. The designs are not only samplers of stitches to learn, but can also be displayed proudly on the wall.
      Another good author of project goods with designs I find beautiful is Jane Nicholas, the stumpwork authority. lol. I will write down which books are my favorite project books when I post next time.
      vince

Leave a Reply

